Book Notes, Digital World, Fitness, Food Stuff, Homeschool

This Past Week : April 10th to 16th

Reading

I finished my non-fiction book for the month, Wild and Free by Jess Connolly and Hayley Morgan. You can read my first thoughts and highlights from the book here. I’m going to finish reading James and the Giant Peach this week and I thinks start the Benedict Option by Rod Dreher on recommendation from my husband. The next fiction I pick up will be Jane and Prudence. I’ve got 6 books on my Kindle right now via Overdrive that I need to read before I can reconnect to Wifi (because they loans are all over, but I’m not done reading!) so I’ll have to see about actual paper-book availability from the library for my next children’s book.

Digital Life

I head a couple of great podcasts this week on life with screens. The first one is from Sally Clarkson and her daughter Sarah about living a story-formed life and the second was from the Homeschool Sisters podcast and an interview with Mary that I found to be extremely realistic and helpful.

Homeschool

We finished up our second week in the My Father’s World Kindergarten curriculum. My
son finished his number line of the Creation events and also made a book that I laminated and put rings on. On Friday, we took pictures on the way to the store and talked about how things are God-created versus things that are man-made. That came at a super timely point because my son has been saying things like “Why did God make them live in that apartment?” We were able to, in a 5 year old’s understanding, talk about how God did make everything and is complete control, but that He inspires man to make things and decisions.IMG_6315

This week, we’re starting our first letter unit “S” and learning about the sun and that Jesus is the light of the world.

Meal Plan

Two big hits around our house that I made this past week and that I can link to is this Thai Pork Stir Fry from Hello Fresh and these Mini-Meatball Sandies form Giada. The other yummy dish I made was Lemon Garlic roasted chicken breasts with roasted potatoes.

I hope you and your family had a Happy Easter weekend!

Leave a Reply

